Stolen Moments ~ Welcome to my blog

Drumbeats – an intriguing title for an intriguing book!

Today, I am happy to give a shout-out to Julia Ibbotson and her book, Drumbeats. A bit out of my ordinary reading – albeit that anything that happened in 1965 now qualifies as Historical Fiction. (OMG! I’m an artefact!!!!!)
Personally, I think Julia’s book sounds very intriguing!

Blurb:

It’s 1965, and 18 year old Jess escapes her stifling English home for a gap year in Ghana, West Africa. But it’s a time of political turbulence across the region. Fighting to keep her young love who waits back in England, she’s thrown into the physical and emotional dangers of civil war, tragedy and the conflict of a disturbing new relationship. And why do the drumbeats haunt her dreams?

This is a rite of passage story which takes the reader hand in hand with Jess on her journey towards the complexities and mysteries of a disconcerting adult world.

This is the first novel in the acclaimed Drumbeats trilogy: Drumbeats, Walking in the Rain, Finding Jess.

For fans of Dinah Jefferies, Kate Morton, Rachel Hore, Jenny Ashcroft

Buy Links:

This title is available to read on #KindleUnlimited.

Universal Link: https://books2read.com/Drumbeats1

Author Bio: Award-winning author Julia Ibbotson herself spent an exciting time in Ghana, West Africa, teaching and nursing (like Jess in her books), and always vowed to write about the country and its past. And so, the Drumbeats Trilogy was born. She’s also fascinated by history, especially by the medieval world, and concepts of time travel, and has written haunting time-slips of romance and mystery partly set in the Anglo-Saxon period.

She studied English at Keele University, England, specialising in medieval language, literature and history, and has a PhD in linguistics. She wrote her first novel at age 10, but became a school teacher, then university lecturer and researcher. Her love of writing never left her and to date she’s written 9 books, with a 10th on the way.

Julia is a member of the Romantic Novelists Association, Society of Authors and the Historical Novel Society.

Author Links:

Website:          https://juliaibbotsonauthor.com

Twitter:           https://twitter.com/JuliaIbbotson

Facebook:        https://www.facebook.com/JuliaIbbotsonauthor

LinkedIn:        https://linkedin.com/in/dr-julia-ibbotson-62a5401a

Instagram:       https://www.instagram.com/julia.ibbotson/

Pinterest:         http://www.pinterest.co.uk/juliai1

Amazon Author Page:            https://Author.to/JuliaIbbotsonauthor

Goodreads:     https://www.goodreads.com/juliaibbotson

5 thoughts on “Drumbeats – an intriguing title for an intriguing book!”

  1. Thank you so much, Anna, for featuring my book, Drumbeats, on your lovely blog today. Much appreciated. And yes, it’s rather frightening that 1965 is counted as ‘historical’ now! ( a fellow artefact!)

  2. Patricia Barraclough

    An artifact here, too. I was 18 in 1965, so I should be able to relate to the time and the character. My overseas experience waited a few years, but was transformative.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.